This site has limited support for your browser. We recommend switching to Edge, Chrome, Safari, or Firefox.



What Are the Spiritual Meanings of Chakra Symbols?

In the magnificent tapestry of life, there’s a hidden world of energy that weaves through our bodies and connects us to the universe. Each energy center, or chakra, has a unique symbol representing it and carries a profound spiritual meaning that can guide us on our path to self-discovery.

What do the chakra symbols mean spiritually, though? This guide will delve into their symbology, their colors, and what they can do for your spiritual journey.

Root (Muladhara)

Your root chakra acts as an anchor for all of the energy centers that follow. This chakra uses the color red and a four-petaled lotus with a down-pointing triangle. This unique symbol represents the earth and our connection to the world.

Sacral (Svadhisthana)

Next, a six-petaled lotus containing an upward-facing crescent moon denotes the sacral chakra, also connected with the color orange. The six petals correspond to our six modes of consciousness: eye, ear, nose, tongue, body, and mind. Spiritually, the symbol embodies our ability to accept others and new experiences.

Solar Plexus (Manipura)

The solar plexus symbol, frequently rendered in sunny yellow, contains a 10-petaled lotus enclosing a circle and a down-pointing triangle. The 10 petals represent the 10 pranas, or life forces, governing our body and mind. It signifies our ability to be confident and in control of our lives.

Heart (Anahata)

Twelve petals surround the lotus that comprise this symbol. The heart chakra is green, and the interlocking triangles inside the lotus represent a union of opposites. The upward- and downward-facing triangles embody our ability to give and receive love.

Throat (Vishuddha)

This 16-petaled lotus, often associated with serene blue, commonly features in chakra jewelry with an inverted triangle and a full moon. The triangle relates to water: fluidity, creativity, and intuition. The moon connects us with our emotions and our unconscious mind.

Third Eye (Ajna)

Your third eye chakra uses the color indigo and a two-petaled lotus enclosing a down-pointing triangle that contains a lingam and an eye. The two petals represent the duality of human nature and the balance between them. The lingam signifies unity and the power of transformation, while the eye stands for the ability to see beyond the physical world.

Crown (Sahasrara)

Often depicted in violet or white, the crown chakra symbol features a thousand petals surrounding a circular moon. It represents the connection to the divine and infinite cosmic energy. Those thousand petals symbolize our limitless potential for growth and enlightenment.

In our exploration of the spiritual meanings of chakra symbols, we have journeyed through the petals of the lotus and the depths of inverted triangles. Each symbol carries a profound message, a cosmic whisper meant to guide us on our path toward self-actualization. These symbols serve as mirrors that reflect the infinite potential within each of us.

Leave a comment

Please note, comments must be approved before they are published

Blog posts

Find Strength this July

This month, we awaken the strength that resides within. From summer storms that quench the parched earth to the insistence of delicate petals to unfurl under the baking sun, nature...


No more products available for purchase

Your cart is currently empty.